The page about a list of Army Chief of Pakistan From 1947 To 2024 will show students, researchers, and scholars to evaluate the history of Pakistan with a balanced lens. The President of Pakistan has the selection power of the Army chief. The first two army chiefs were from India and Britain. General Frank Messervy was appointed in August 1947 and retired in February 1948. The second chief of army staff was General Douglas Gracey appointed in February 1948 and retired in January 1951. The Pakistan Army Chief website shows all names in the list of Army Chiefs of Pakistan From 1947 To 2024 form. The Pakistan Army Chief Field Marshal Muhammad Ayub Khan was appointed in January 1951 and retired in October 1958.

List of Army Chief of Pakistan From 1947 To 2024

General Muhammad Musa was the Army chief appointed in October 1958 and retired in June 1966. The fourth Chief of Army Staff was General Muhammad Musa appointed in October 1958 and retired in 1966. The fifth tenure as army chief of Pakistan is General Yahya Khan appointed in June 1966 till December 1971.

From 1969 to 1971 he was the third president of Pakistan after the resignation of Ayub Khan. Ayub Khan was the second president of Pakistan from the military from 1958 to 1969. He was the youngest full general in Pakistan’s military history.

After the tenure of General Mohammad Yahya Khan, General Gul Hassan Khan was selected as Army chief of Pakistan. He served in this position from December 1971 to March 1972. General Tikka Khan was appointed after. Hence the complete list of Army Chief of Pakistan From 1947 To 2024 is provided here on this page.

List of All Army Chief of Pakistan From 1947 Till Now Date

Order Name Appointment Date Retirement
1. General Frank Messervy August 1947 February 1948
2. General Douglas Gracey February 1948 January 1951
3. Field Marshal Ayub Khan January 1951 October 1958
4. General Muhammad Musa October 1958 June 1966
5. General Yahya Khan June 1966 December 1971
6. General Gul Hassan Khan December 1971 March 1972
7. General Tikka Khan March 1972 March 1976
8. General Zia-ul-Haq March 1976 August 1988
9. Mirza Aslam Beg August 1988 August 1991
10. Asif Nawaz August 1991 January 1993
11. Abdul Waheed Kakar January 1993 January 1996
12. Jehangir Karamat January 1996 October 1998
13. Pervez Musharraf October 1998 November 2007
14. Ziauddin Butt October 1999 October 1999
(Appointment lasted a few hours)
15. Raheel Sharif November 2013 November 2016
16. Qamar Javed Bajwa November 2016 2020
17. Syed Asim Munir November 2020 Present