Who Imposed 3rd Martial Law in Pakistan

Question: Who Imposed the Third Martial Law in Pakistan?

  • Gen. Ayub Khan
  • Agha Muhammad Yahya Khan
  • Gen. Muhammad Zia ul Haq
  • Sikander Mirza

Answer: Gen. Muhammad Zia ul Haq

Army Chief, General Muhammad Zia ul Haq Imposed the Third Martial Law in Pakistan

Who Imposed 3rd Martial Law in Pakistan

Since the time of Independence, Pakistan has been under the rule of the army so many times almost half of the period of its life. Martial law was welcomed in Pakistan nation in the period three times. In 1977, the third martial law was imposed. However, this martial law was declared by the side of Army Chief, General Muhammad Zia ul Haq. Fresh elections were announced on October 15, 1977. But on July 5, 1977, the Chief of Army Staff, General Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq hence imposed Martial Law, and the elections were postponed. General Zia-ul-Haq announced holding the elections within 90 days. However, he did mention that he came up with this decision based on holding the new elections for national and provincial assemblies within ninety days.

None of the political parties was banned and hence the nominations were filed for seats. Reason gave. By 1st March 1978, he canceled the election and banned all political activity. In the same month, almost 200 of the journalists were also arrested, and several newspapers were shut down. Hence, he announced that by 1978 he would be elected and established his own rule. Do you know how many costitutions of Pakistan is?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *